Public Disclosure Commission
Shining Light on Washington Politics Since 1972

Fee Schedule

Type of Record

Fee

Standard sized (8 "2 x 11) black and whlte paper coples of publlc
records maintained on paper or mamtamed electronlcally and

15 cents per page (each side is one page)

printed onto paper

Standard sized (8 % x 11) color paper copies of publlc records

maintained on ‘paper or mamtamed electronically and prmted onto

15 cents per page (each side is one page)

paper
CD of copies

$1 per CD plus scanning fee for any scanned
records; no additional fee for copying electronic
records onto CD

DVD of'cppiés —

$1 per DVD plus scanning fee for any scanned
records; no additional fee for copying electronic

| records onto DVD

Nonstandard coples (oversized coples photographs etc) 1 Actual cost.
Scanned paper records : : : | Scanning fee is 10 cents per page (each image
| is one page)
Actual cost for paper copies; many statements

Statements'ahd reports filed under RCW 421 ZA ‘

and reports are available for inspecting online
at no cost. RCW 42.17A.020.

Video tapes, :caséette tapes, or slides

| Actual cost.

Records copied by an outside vendor

Actual cost. An outside vendor may be used
due to volume, current workload of commission
staff, unique nature of the request, or any other

reason.

A Records on PDC website -

‘| No charge for viewing.

Records inspected at PDC office

.| No charge for viewing.

Any other record not described above.

Actual cost.

Other Information Concerning Fees & Payment
(See also attached guidelines)

outside vendor costs and other direct costs in producing the request.

Actual costs are determined at the time the record is produced. Factors include but are not limited to materials,

Actual costs of mailing records, including postage and mailing containers, are added to the above fees.

There is no charge for emailing records if emailing is feasible, but other costs may apply (scanning fees, outside
vendor costs). It may not be feasible to email records if the volume is too large to be sent or received, or for other

reasons based upon limitations in technology (the agency'’s or the requester’s).

no ability to make change.

Payment must be made by cash, or check or money order payable to the Washington State Treasurer. The PDC has
no ability to accept credit card or debit card payments. If paying with cash, the exact amount is required as PDC has

The Public Records Officer may require a deposit, and/or payment for each installment before providing the next
installment. The Public Records Officer will require full payment before providing records.

No charges will be assessed if records responsive to a request total less than ten pages.

The Public Records Officer may also waive the charges when the expenses of processing payment exceed the cost of

providing copies (estimated at $5).

e The PDC does not provide customized access to its databases.

APPROVED/S/ ;%4 o /M \ ?&

Executive Director
Date: 12/13/2013

e _The Executive Director may modify this fee schedule at any time.




GUIDELINES FOR WAIVING FEES AND ARRANGING PAYMENT

FOR RECORDS PRODUCED IN RESPONSE TO PUBLIC RECORDS REQUESTS UNDER RCW 42.56

1. PDC FEE SCHEDULE. The PDC Fee Schedule applies to all public records requests made under RCW
42.56 (the Public Records Act). WAC 390-14-03(.

2. SMALL RESPONSE. Fees are automatically waived when the total response to a request is less than 10
pages. PDC Fee Schedule.

3. OTHER WAIVER. The Public Records Officer may waive fees {copying & mailing} when the total fees in
response to a request, or the fees for each installment, is 55.00 or less. (That is because it costs at

least 55.00 to process a payment.) PDC Fee Schedule.

4. UNWAIVED FEES. All unwaived fees must be paid prior to providing records.

a.
b.

Records are not to be provided until unwaived fees are paid.

The Public Records Officer will advise the requester of the fees due, and provide the requester
an invoice with a deadline for payment.

Once the invoice is paid, the records will be provided.

A next installment will not be processed (records searched, raviewed) untll the requester timely
pays for a prior installment.

If an invoice is not paid by the deadline, the Public Records Officer will make a note in the file
and place a copy of the unpaid invoice in the file, and close the request. WAC 390-14-030.

5. ADVANCE DEPOSITS. The Public Records Officer may require a deposit of 10 percent of the estimated
cost of an installment or request prior to producing a request. WAC 390-14-030. The Public Recards

Officer will abtain guidance from the Executive Director on when a deposit will be required before
processing a request. The factors that may be considered in requiring a deposit include, for example:
a. The requestis very large and/or will require an extensive or extended {multiple-month)

b.

d.

allocation of agency resources.
The requester has an outstanding unpaid invoice from a prior public records request, an

outstanding unpaid penalty from a PDC enforcement proceeding, or other documented history
showing prior unpaid bills {e.g. bankruptcy proceeding; or, requester is political committee with

reports showing outstanding unpaid debt after an election).
The request will involve outside vendor costs, other direct costs not typically incurred by the

PDCin responding to a request, or other unusual or unanticipated costs (e.g., copying videos).
Unused deposits will be returned to the requester.

6. PAYMENT MECHANISMS. Payment may be made by cash, check or money order. POC Fee Schedule.

a.
b.

C.

Checks and money orders are to be made payable to the Washington State Treasurer.
Cash payments shall be placed into the petty cash fund and accounted for in the usual

procedures for that fund.
The PDC does not have the ability to process credit card or debit card payments or to make

change.

7. OTHER PAYMENT ISSUES. The Public Records Officer will consult with the Executive Director if other
payment issues arise that are not addressed in the PDC Fee Schedule or these Guidelines.




