Case #65092
Respondent name: Mark Dunn
Complainant name: PDC Staff

Pursuant to the brief enforcement hearing (brief adjudicative proceeding) notice sent to Mark Dunn on February 14, 2020, a brief adjudicative proceeding was held on February 28, 2020, in Room 206, Evergreen Plaza Building, 711 Capitol Way, Olympia, Washington, to consider whether the Respondent violated RCW 42.17A.615 by failing to file Monthly Lobbyist Expense Reports (L-2 Reports) as a lobbyist for the 2019 calendar year. The L-2 reports were due to be filed by the 15th of each month, disclosing lobbying activities in the previous calendar month. 

The hearing was held in accordance with Chapters 34.05 RCW and 42.17A RCW and Chapter 390-37 WAC.  Commission Chair Dave Ammons was the Presiding Officer.  The Commission staff was represented by Tabatha Blacksmith, Compliance Coordinator.  The Respondent did not participate in the hearing or submit any written materials. 

Having considered the evidence, the Presiding Officer finds as follows: 


1. The Respondent was a registered lobbyist in the State of Washington during calendar year 2019.   
2. As a registered lobbyist, the Respondent was required to file the L-2 reports by the 15th of each month, disclosing compensation and lobbying expenses in the prior calendar month, such as travel, entertainment, contributions, advertising, and other lobbying expenses. 
3. The Respondent did not file the missing L-2 report for September of 2019 prior to the date of the hearing.    
4. The Respondent has no prior violations. 


Based on the above facts, as a matter of law, the Presiding Officer concludes as follows: 

1. This matter was duly and properly convened and all jurisdictional, substantive, and procedural requirements have been satisfied. 

2. The Respondent violated RCW 42.17A.615 by failing to file the L-2 report by the 15th of the month as required. 


On the basis of the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Respondent is assessed a civil penalty of $250 in accordance with the L-2 penalty schedule set forth in WAC 390-37-143. The $250 penalty is due within 30 days from the date of this Order.  
In the event the Respondent fails to pay the assessed civil penalty within 90 days of the date of the Order, PDC staff is directed to refer the matter to outside collections for the amount owed.  

Disposition: Violation Found by Commission (Resolved 03/09/2020)
Date opened: 02/14/2020
Area of Law: RCW 42.17A.615

Subscribe to updates for this content